Band Name: The Won’t Win

Year Formed: ____

Genre: Folk-Rock, Singer-Songwriter

Band Members:

Greg Lanier
Danny M. Cohen


“They Won’t Win is a gay acoustic folk-rock duo consisting of singer-songwriters Danny M. Cohen and Greg Lanier. Their songs—inspired by their British and American roots—blend intricate harmonies, thoughtful lyrics, and soaring melodies.

Singer-songwriters Danny M. Cohen and Greg Lanier were friends for barely days before they realized they each owned a guitar. One night in the basement, Greg picked his up and played Crowded House’s “Fall At Your Feet.” Danny came in with harmonies and Greg stopped playing. They swore on the spot to bring some music into the world together. And so, the Chicago-based acoustic folk-rock duo They Won’t Win was born. (Their name is a nod to Crowded House’s lyrics.)

A series of original songs followed, inspired by their vastly different backgrounds—Danny hails from London and Greg from America’s south and heartland—combined with their similar experiences as gay men, partners, and fathers to their daughters.

Hearing their songs, it becomes clear that They Won’t Win has a deep love for intricate harmonies and soaring pop and folk melodies. So, it comes as no surprise that some of their inspirations include Simon and Garfunkel, Travis, Patty Griffin, Indigo Girls, Glen Hansard, Everything But The Girl, Billy Bragg, Kings of Convenience, The Supremes, Damien Rice, Gillian Welch, José Gonzalez, and Aimee Mann.

After a few years of songwriting interspersed with open mics, the release of Danny’s novel and founding a human rights nonprofit, Greg opening a neighborhood store with his partner, and the obligations of dadhood and day jobs, They Won’t Win is finalizing its first album of music for release to the public through a series of performances, videos, and recordings in 2018. Supported by an amazing group of talented musicians and producers, They Won’t Win’s dream of sharing their music with the world is about to cross the finish line!


Lost at Sea – 2019
Crosswords – 2017


Record Label: Independent

Official Site: